The Art of Fine Dining – Recipes by Shatec

One day, Little Gluttons wanted to pamper herself and decided to head to Recipes for some fine dining. Recipes is a student-run restaurant tucked in a corner of The Treasury Building located at City Hall. Dining at Recipes is always enjoyable because of the good food and great and warm service by the students. You never fail to feel like kings and queens! We also like that fact that it isn’t that crowded so you get to enjoy your meal in peace.

We had the 3 course set dinner served with appetizer, entrée and dessert.

recipes 1

Smoked Salmon With Petit Green and House Dressing

Was a little disappointed with the salad because it was just too simple. Nothing I would expect from Recipes since they are usually quite creative. Could do with more smoked salmon too! I would appreciate if they didn’t used onions because the taste was so overpowering that it masked the taste of the dressing.

recipes

Vegetable Chowder

Yum Yum Love! The soup was so sweet because of the vegetables and you will be able to find bits of peppers in it. This reminded me of the white asparagus soup I had in Marche, just that Marche’s very too rich while this wasn’t.

recipes 2

Pan-seared Seabass with Seasonal Vegetables, Mash Potato and Tangy Cream Sauce

I had my reservations when I ordered this dish because cooking the seabass well wasn’t easy. You need the skin to be crispy yet not overcooking the fish. If overcooked, the seabass would be very dry and the flavours would be lost. But when I sank the knife into the fish, I saw the juice oozing out, much to my delight. The fish was juicy and soft and since it wasn’t seasoned, it blended really well with the cream sauce. Did I mention that their mash potato was not to be missed? Interestingly, Recipes managed to moderate the amount of milk needed to perfection. It was rich, yet the richness wasn’t overwhelming. I think Recipes were really particular about the amount of milk they used for their food and sauces.

recipes 3

Roast Chicken with Seasonal Vegetables, Mash Potato and BBQ sauce

This was Mr Glutton’s choice for the night. Roast Chicken was grilled well, flavourful and tender. As for the sides, nothing to rave about unlike the mash potato I had.

recipes 4

Strawberry Parfait

I am sorry Recipes, but your desserts just dun meet my mark. The parfait just a soft yet overly sweet mash. The berries were meant to balance it but all I tasted was 2 extreme. The awfully sweet parfait followed by the awfully sour berries. I really hope they improve on their desserts because a great dinner doesn’t stop at the entrée!

recipes 5

Blue Daisy Mocktail

In conjuction with Singapore Kindness Movement, Recipes created the “Blue Daisy Mocktail” and Kindness Cocktail”. I find it interesting that the bartender would actually mix the drinks at your table. I had the “Blue Daisy Mocktail” which was created with orange juice, orange juice, blue lagoon and ginger ale. You have no idea how much I adore blue lagoon. Anyway, the mocktail was refreshing but I wished they didn’t put a glassful of ice because the ice diluted the taste of the drink after awhile.

So if you ever want to pamper yourself if some good fine dining, give Recipes a try because the students there definitely needs our support!

Where to find them:
The Treasury,
100 High Street,
#01-03

One thought on “The Art of Fine Dining – Recipes by Shatec

  1. Pingback: Recipes – A Bistro by SHATEC (The Treasury) | fatsgboy - sgboy's food and travel blog

Leave a comment